Tag Archives: Br. Raymundo Suplido FSC

All DLSU Gokongwei College of Engineering programs now ABET-accredited

All of De La Salle University’s undergraduate degree programs in the Gokongwei College of Engineering have been accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET, the global accreditor of college and university programs in applied and natural science, computing, engineering, and engineering technology.

The following programs are now ABET-accredited: Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Computer Engineering, Electronics Engineering, Industrial Engineering, Manufacturing Engineering and Management, and Mechanical Engineering.

ABET accreditation assures that programs meet standards to produce graduates ready to enter critical technical fields that are leading the way in innovation and emerging technologies, and anticipating the welfare and safety needs of the public.

“The ABET accreditation is a testament to the University’s commitment to providing quality education that prepares graduates to enter the global workforce,” says DLSU President Br. Raymundo B. Suplido FSC.

Sought worldwide, ABET’s voluntary peer-review process is highly respected because it adds critical value to academic programs in the technical disciplines, where quality, precision, and safety are of the utmost importance.

Developed by technical professionals from ABET’s member societies, ABET criteria focus on what students experience and learn. ABET accreditation reviews look at program curricula, faculty, facilities, and institutional support and are conducted by teams of highly skilled professionals from industry, academia, and government, with expertise in the ABET disciplines.

ABET is a nonprofit, non-governmental organization with ISO 9001:2015 certification. It currently accredits 4,005 programs at over 793 colleges and universities in 32 countries.

More information about ABET, its member societies, and the accreditation criteria used to evaluate programs can be found at www.abet.org.

For more information about DLSU Gokongwei College of Engineering, visit dlsu.edu.ph.

DLSU holds 12th Lasallian Scholarum Awards to honor PHL’s best youth and education stories

flight lsa 2015

In pursuit of its advocacy to promote the country’s youth and education sectors, De La Salle University held the 12th Lasallian Scholarum Awards for outstanding media coverage last September 14, 2015 at the Makati Shangri-La Hotel.

The Lasallian Scholarum Awards, with this year’s theme “#nofilter,” celebrates the truthful and fearless coverage of youth and education stories while challenging the public to seek creative and collaborative solutions to the issues at the heart of the news.


This year’s winners are: “Titser” by ANC for Outstanding Televised Feature Story on Youth and Education; “Muslim Kid” by  Manila Bulletin’s Linus Guardian Escandor III for Outstanding Published Photograph on Youth and Education; “Kukunin Ka ng Bumbay and Other Childhood Lessons on Race and Gender“ by Rappler.com’s Shakira Sison for Online Feature Story for Youth and Education; “DepEd chief to Bilibid grads: We’re not that different” by The Philippine Daily Inquirer’s Jovic Yee for Outstanding Published Feature Article on Youth and Education in a Nationally-circulated Publication; and “Our education reforms will work if…” by The Philippine Star’s Preciosa Soliven for Outstanding Published Column Article on Youth and Education. The winners from these categories each received P25, 000.00.

“A look into CHED Memo No. 20-2013: The End of Language?” by The Lasallian  won the Outstanding Published Feature Article on Youth and Education in a School Organ received P15,000.00. The grand prize winner for Outstanding Feature Story on De La Salle University is “This professor lights up their lives” by Jayson Mangalus of Manila Bulletin.  He received P40,000.00.

The winners from professional media outfits also received a sculpture especially designed and crafted by renowned sculptor, Daniel Dela Cruz. Sponsored by the De La Salle University’s Office for Strategic Communications, the Lasallian Scholarum Awards contracted an independent media-monitoring agency for the screening of youth and education news and features.

DLSU confers honorary degree in science on Nobel Laureate

ada w b raymundo reduc to 55percent

DLSU President-Designate Br. Raymundo Suplido FSC presents a token of appreciation to Prof. Ada Yonath after she is given a honorary degree in science.

De La Salle University conferred upon 2009 Nobel Laureate for Chemistry Professor Ada Yonath by awarding her an honorary degree in science last March 2 at the DLSU Teresa Yuchengco Auditorium, coinciding with Bridges lecture she delivered on campus.

Best known for her pioneering work on the structure and atomic workings of the ribosome, the cell’s “protein factory,” the esteemed scientist also established the first protein crystallography laboratory in Israel. Prof. Yonath has generated 3D models that show how different antibiotics bind to the ribosome and how bacteria become resistant to antibiotics.

In addition, she introduced a novel technique called cryo bio-crystallography that “revolutionized the field of structural biology and has given it wide-ranging applications, particularly in the development and design of new antibiotics.” She is also the first woman from the Middle East to win the Nobel Prize in science and the first woman in 45 years to win the Nobel Prize for Chemistry.

Prof. Yonath received her bachelor’s degree in Chemistry and her master’s degree in Biochemistry at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem in 1962 and 1964, respectively. She earned her PhD in X-Ray Crystallography at the Weizmann Institute of Science in 1968.

She held postdoctoral positions in Carnegie Mellon University in 1969 and MIT in 1970, where she worked with 1976 Chemistry Nobel Laureate William N. Lipscomb, Jr. of Harvard University.

In addition, Prof. Yonath was also visiting professor at the University of Chicago, visiting scientist at the Heinz-Günter Wittmann, Max Planck Institute for Molecular Genetics in Berlin, and head of a Max-Planck Research Unit at Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DESY) in Hamburg while continuing her research activities at the Weizmann Institute of Science, where she was the holder of the Martin S. and Helen Kimmel Professorial Chair.

The Bridges lecture series is an event organized by both the Vienna-based International Peace Foundation and DLSU and, over the years, has included celebrated individuals such as former New York City Mayor Rudolf Giuliani, former World Bank President James Wolfensohn, Nobel Laureate for Physics David Jonathan Gross, Nobel Laureate for Economics Robert Mundell, former Timor-Leste President and Nobel Laureate for Peace Jose Ramos-Horta, former UK Prime Minister Tony Blair, Nobel Laureate for Medicine Torsten Wiesel, and  former President of Poland and Nobel Laureate for Peace Lech Walesa.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...